Movie Review: We Are Your Friends (2015)

Typically friends help you shape who you are, they are the ones who define you, and they are the ones who will stay by your side. Well, in this movie the friends are not just your typical friends.

Just because Zac Efron is in this movie and there are lots of partying, I expected for it to be just the usual comedy with lots of swearing and sex with a little bit of romance and a tiny bit of values to remember just so the audience can say that they learned something on it. But I was totally wrong. Despite all the partying and drugs, there’s something more–well, towards the end of the movie.

We Are Your Friends: 'plenty to like'.

The movie started off with a group of friends–or in my perspective—as a group of business buddies who just kind of hang out with each other and understand each others differences so that’s why they stick together. They have the same problems and issues, they don’t have a permanent work or lifestyle. Just men in their 20s who knows what they want to do but are not doing anything about it.

What I like about this movie is that it opened me to the DJ-ing scene. Which I only know about because of Zedd and David Guetta and The Chainsmokers, you know, the mainstream DJ’s in the media nowadays. Unlike what I thought DJ-ing was, which is that you just spin some record and I know it’s so mediocre, there’s so much more of it. The mixes, the music, the beats.

1401x788-1432068339_emily-ratajkowski-zac-efron-zoom

It basically just shows people having fun and of course the “I slept with your girlfriend, man” parts. (Spoiler ahead!) What really struck me is how their friend Squirrel died. I nearly cried at that part. Because he’s that one friend who dreams big, who has more plans for his life, he’s the one who died. And that sucks. Because just like what he said, there is so much more in this life.

“Are we ever going to be bigger than this?”

Just like what I said earlier, the last part of the movie is the best, for me. That’s the most meaningful part which made me write this review despite the first few parts being cliché and all. It’s that part when he says that you can connect to the crowd when you show them everything that you are.

That’s when it hit me.

For me to be a successful artist (or dancer) that I want to be, just like what they always say, I must find myself first. Find my own flavor, just like what he did in the movie. He found his own sound, he found himself first. That’s how he connected to the crowd. I’ll get there.

This movie is recommended for people who just wants to be entertained and inspired at the same time. Nothing so special about it except for the fact that Zac Efron is in it and he is hot.

we-are-your-friends

Rating: 3.5/5

Leave a Reply

