Pahiyas Festival at Lucban, Quezon (May 15, 2016, Sunday)

My motivation to wake up and take a bath would be the excitement that I was feeling. We had to wake up at 3AM. I slept at 12AM. But I had to fight the sleepiness because it will be my first time to attend the Pahiyas Festival and to legit see and attend a festival. And yes, I considered it as a break from my academics as well since the week after that festival will be my hell week.

After an hour of getting ready and constant blinking because I was still too sleepy to fully wake myself up, we were finally on the way to Lucban, Quezon. The whole ride to Quezon was full of waking up and then falling asleep again. It was the 5AM bliss while on a car having a (kind of a) road trip that made the entire time I was sleeping memorable. I totally deserved that sleep despite wanting to look at my phone and review for my upcoming exams that week.

We reached Quezon too early that the people in the house that we’re going to stay to just woke up. But, hoorah! Food! We ate Lucban’s famous panit habhab for breakfast. You don’t know real hunger until you went straight to a road trip without even eating breakfast. That breakfast was worth the wait though. It was decided that after eating breakfast we would finally go to the place of the festival and finally enjoy the scenery. I was getting excited, of course. I made sure my phone had enough battery for me to capture every moment of it and snapchat as well (lol).

It was a long walk from my father’s officemate’s house to the street where the Pahiyas Festival was held. The sun was high, the weather was hot, and it was just a pretty good atmosphere.

We first went and visited the church. Why wouldn’t we? The main reason why there are piyesta’s like this is to give thanks to the Lord or to other saints, and in this case it would be San Isidro Labrador. The amount of people already in the place was intense. You already know that people would really come here to celebrate and see all the beautiful designs—and higantes!

That’s where the journey started.

It was full of colors and an enthusiastic atmosphere. I loved it. Even though the weather was getting hotter and the sun was getting higher, we kept on walking and seeing all these beautiful and creative designs from those people inside those houses. I am not an expert in such but I am an expert in appreciating such artistry. Not all would be considered artistic enough, but just the mere fact that people would really take time to do all these things just to give thanks is enough.

I saw the creativity of the Filipinos on using materials like palay, banig, gulay, and other indigenous materials that really made their designs unforgettable. Alongside the main event, I saw how the people who celebrate it are happy and smiling. They were all excited and jumpy that it just made the festival’s atmosphere lighten up.

But just like every journey, this journey had to end.

They decided to go back to the house at 11am. Too early, I thought. But we were also too early here that we had to go back early too to avoid the traffic of the people and the vehicles.

When we got back to the house we ate lunch and spent an hour there just talking about what we experienced in the festival. It was really unforgettable—and tiring. Because of this experience I think I’m setting a goal to attend as much fiestas as I can—fiestas like this. Even though I’m really afraid of the number of people during those events, add it up with the different groups of people that you will see, I’m still motivated to attend and see how Filipinos really celebrate such fiestas.

Hopefully, this will not be my first and last post about fiestas.

Leave a Reply

